July Cover Girl!

July 8, 2010 § Leave a comment

Rihanna graces the July issue of Elle Magazine donning sequins and leopard print ensembles.

Rihanna speaks on why her Gucci print campaign was a big deal and why she had to do it:

“It’s clear there are definitely fewer black women in the high-fashion industry. One of the things I respected most about Gucci was that they did a print campaign with me. I’m a black girl on a fashion spread for Gucci – that was a big deal.”

On what she respects from designers in the industry:

“I respect designers who aren’t afraid to go outside the box. I went to a Jean Paul Gaultier show, and I saw girls who are thicker than me, beautiful and voluptuous and different ethnicities. That made me so excited. I thought, ‘Okay, I can work that, for sure.”

The Barbados-born icon’s take on fashion:

“Fashion is not a burden for me. It’s quite the opposite. Fashion is just like music a great way to show my creativity. Style and design are very important for my development as an artist. And it’s of course extremely fun.”

Behind the Scenes: Rihanna Cover Shoot Video

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading July Cover Girl! at the daileigh.

meta

